New Law for Residential Contractors states that all licensed contractors in Tennessee must have continuing education credits in 2022.
In 2019 the Tennessee General Assembly passed a law requiring continuing education for licensed contractors in residential construction. In 2020 the Board for Licensing Contractors finalized the rules to spell out additional details.
Who must comply with the new requirement?
* Licensed Contractors who have a classification for residential construction, and
* Who was licensed on or after January 1, 2009
When the law was passed in 2019, the General Assembly “grandfathered” in contractors licensed prior to 2009. Continuing educations is still available to all, but these “older” contractors will not have to show proof of compliance.
How many hours of continuing education are required when I renew my license?
* The law and rules state you must have completed a minimum of 8 hours of continuing education in the previous 2 years.
When I renew my contractor’s license, what will I have to submit to show that I completed the 8 hours of continuing education (CE)?
The land rule provide two options to obtain the minimum 8 hours of education:
- The proof of in-person or online training or relevant educational materials provided by an approved education provider.
* Online education will launch in the Fall of 2021, www.hbat.org/education
- Active membership during the past year in your local Home Builders Association (TN only) will qualify as 4 hours of annual continuing education. Members earn 1 hour per quarter. Two full years of membership equals 8 hours.
* Home Builders Association of Tennessee (HBAT) will certify your membership to the Contractors Board.